In an EMERGENCY, dial (574) 631-5555 from a cell phone or 911 from a University of Notre Dame phone to reach the Notre Dame Police and Fire departments. 

Risk Management & Safety
636 Grace Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Phone: See below
Fax: (574) 631-8794
Email: See below

Risk Management & Safety Org Chart 7 2021 (274 kb)

Senior Director, Risk Management & Safety
  Overall responsibility for Environmental Health and Safety and Compliance, planning, management, and execution of safety programs, policy and procedure, strategic development, and business continuity. For interim support, please contact Eric Doland at 631-4944 or
Mary Beth Greendonner, EIT
Associate Director, Safety
631-8906 Accident investigations, safety audits, Good Catches, Occupational and other safety programs, safety committees, local, state, and federal regulatory agency representative. Safety for: Lock / Tag / Try, and Machine Guarding & Shop Safety;
Randy Crist, ASP
Safety Specialist
631-6025 Emergency Action Plans, Incident Investigations; Safety for: Fall Protection, Electrical Safety, and Special Events; Training for: Fall Protection, Ladder Safety, Off-Road Vehicle, and Scaffolding Safety Support for Athletics, Building Services, Campus Safety, College of Business, Finance, FD&O, General Counsel, Grad School, HR, Law School, Notre Dame International, Office of the President, Office of the Provost, Office of Research, OIT, Public Affairs, School of Global Affairs, Student Affairs and University Operations
Thomas Waldschmidt, ASP
Safety Specialist
631-2782 Safety for: Aerial Lifts, Confined Space Entry, Hot Work, Overhead Crane, Powered Industrial Trucks (forklifts), and Trenching; Training for: Aerial Lifts, Confined Space Entry, Overhead Crane, and Powered Industrial Trucks, Trenching. Safety Support for University Enterprises & Events, Campus Services, and DPAC
Jason DeWispeleare, CHMM, CHO
Assistant Director, Laboratory Safety, Biosafety Officer, Chemical Hygiene Officer
631-8167 Safety for: Biosafety, Chemical Safety, Chemical Approval/Shipping, Experimental Review, Import Permitting, Infectious Shipping, and Lab Safety; Training for: Category B Biological, Dry Ice, and DOT Warehouse Safety Support for Biology, BSL-2 spaces, Chemistry, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Freimann, Harper, IUSM, KECK, McCourtney Hall, ND Research Core Facilities, and UNDERC
Adam Kratt, CSP
Safety Specialist
631-3698 Safety for: PPE Program & Assessment, Slips, Trips, & Falls, and Lab Safety; Training for: Hazard Communication and Radiation Safety Safety Support for CEST, Innovation Park, Jordan teaching labs, ND Turbo, Physics, Radiation Laboratory, and Risk Management & Safety
Nick Ratkay
Safety Specialist
631-8624 Safety for: Lab Safety  Safety Support for Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, Anthropology, Art, Art History, & Design, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, NDPD, and Psychology For interim safety support, please contact Jason DeWispeleare at 631-8167 or
Erin Hafner, MPA, CESM
Assistant Director, Environment & Health
631-7889 Environmental, Industrial Hygiene, Occupational Health, Asbestos, Bloodborne Pathogens, Emergency Planning, Ergonomics, Hazardous Waste Disposal, Hearing Conservation, Indoor Air Quality, Refrigerants, Respiratory Protection, Sharps, Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasure, Universal Waste, and UST
Chad Rist
Hazardous Materials Technician
631-4942 Hazardous Waste Discard Tag System Assistance, Hazardous Waste Disposal, and Annual Laboratory Hood Evaluations
Eric Doland, CSP
Assistant Director, Compliance Assurance
631-4944 complyND, Environmental, Health, and Safety training and audit processes, Action Items,  Incidents, Inspection analysis and reporting, and OnBase
Carla Gruse, RWCS
Systems Program Manager
631-7532 complyND, Worker's Compensation, and Stages, Tents, and Canopies
Cody Rios-Sueverkruebbe
Finance and Data Associate
631-2232 Data analysis and reporting through Tableau for Injuries, Investigations, Action Items, and Inspections, and general departmental support and accounting
Beth Ann Reed
Administrative Assistant (PT)
631-4330 Newsletters, website, and general departmental support.
                                                                                 RADIATION SAFETY OFFICER
Mike Domal, CHP
Radiation Safety Officer
631-6701 Manage and oversee the University's Radiation Safety Program and Laser Safety Program. Designated RSO and Laser Safety Officer for the University, provide day-to-day oversight of radiation and laser safety practices. This includes liaison for Radiation Shipping/Waste Vendors, Radiation Approval/Shipping, and Radiation Safety/Sources; Training for: Radiation, Radiation Refresher, and DOT Warehouse